The Gift of Today

today-is-a-gift-and-blessing-from-god

Good morning and welcome to another gift the Lord has given us. I started to tell all of you that yesterday was kinda like the Ole Miss game; although we did still win the day, there was not really much exciting to tell you about. Well, the Lord quickly reminded me this morning that yesterday went EXACTLY the way He planned it. Although we only had 2 visits; one from long-time friends, Jimmy and Lanessa Parker​, the other from our oldest daughter Sam, it was really all my Angel could handle. Lanessa brought us some red beans and rice, rolls, and oh, the best banana pudding, just what my Angel has been craving. Then, Samantha Ashley​ came over, and she too brought some banana pudding for her momma. She is going to be set for a while. I think she ate at least 3 bowls before the day was through. I won’t even tell you how many I ate, lol.

What we should always remember, if we truly surrender our day to God, and ask Him to take control, we have to be willing to trust Him with the outcome. Yesterday my Angel did not have a bad day, but she was pretty weak for much of the day. I think she was expecting a couple of friends who said they may drop by to see her, but I have no doubt God put stumbling blocks in their way, because He knew that yesterday needed to be a day of rest. You see, our plans are not always what’s best for us. But, God, being the loving, caring Father that He is, may not always give us what we want, but will ALWAYS give us what we need.

Just a little something to think about this morning, according to the world death clock, (see here) on average, there are 153,424.70 people who take their last breath every single day. I guess we really don’t like to think about death, but it is a part of life; and when we or our loved ones come face to face with the end, it gives you, me, a whole new appreciation for every single morning we open our eyes, breath, and are able to say, thank You God for giving us one more day. Because, there WILL come a day we will no longer have that precious gift to open. But, those of us who have put our trust in Jesus NEVER have to worry, because when we take our last breath here on earth, what awaits us is something more glorious than we can possibly imagine. Just like the ole hymn says, “When we all get to heaven, what a day of rejoicing that will be! When we all see Jesus, we’ll sing and shout the victory!”

So, this morning, to You of loving father we sing

Your kindness leads me to repentance
Your goodness draws me to Your side
Your mercy calls me to be like You
Your favor is my delight
Every day, I’ll awaken my praise
And pour out a song from my heart

You are good, You are good
You are good, and Your mercy is forever

I pray you all have an amazing Lord’s Day, and remember, this day is not about us, it’s ALL about You, Jesus.

When the music fades
All is stripped away
And I simply come

Longin’ just to bring
Something that’s of worth
That will bless your heart

I’ll bring You more than a song
For a song in itself
Is not what You have required

You search much deeper within
Through the ways things appear
You’re looking into my heart

I’m comin’ back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about You
It’s all about You, Jesus

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

