A Living Example of Love

then and now

I just love how the Lord keeps protecting my heart. Each of these mornings as we spend time together, I just want to fall apart in His arms. But, He has this way to turning things around really fast. Like this morning, these waves of what I can only assume are pre-grief, hit me. In a single moment I am consumed with overwhelming sadness, and my every thought is how in this world can I go on without my Angel. She is my everything! Then, He will start reminding me of the amazing life we have had together; the cruises, the spontaneous trips we have taken, ect., and all of a sudden joy begins to flood my soul. He will remind me of just how blessed my life has been. People say it’s better to have loved and lost, than to never have loved at all. Well, this love we have shared these past 26 years has far exceeded my wildest dreams. Knowing what I know now, would I do it all over again? In a heartbeat!

I think back on who I was when this picture on the left was taken. I had come a long way, but I was still very much a broken man. But God had already given me everything I would need to become the man you see on the right. He gave me that sweet Angel right next to me. God had gifted her with patience and devotion to our relationship. When we met I was a high school dropout, in a job that paid barely over minimum wage. I was living, with my boys, who were 4 and 6 at the time, in low income apartments. I drove an old Toyota Corolla and the brakes did not even work. I had to use the hand brake to stop the car. Boy, wasn’t I every woman’s dream. Yet, from early on she told me she dreamed about me before we ever met. Somehow, God had showed her the man I would one day become. As I bounced from job to job, trying to find my place in this world, she just bounced with me, praying for God to open the right doors of opportunity. When God opened the door for me to realize my dream of going to college; once again, we realized our dreams together, and both received our Bachelor Degrees from Mississippi College. Today, instead of that old Toyota, I drive  a Porsche; instead of living in low income apartments, our home is paid in full (just made final mortgage payment). It is truly amazing how one life, surrendered to the Lordship of Christ, can affect another, and God’s blessings are sure to follow.

“And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” 2 Corinthians 9:8

Yesterday, she filled my heart with joy with her message on my post.

Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.” As we have traveled through this journey together, my precious Jerry Pitts, I have watched you change. Everyday as you spend more and more time with God, so very early in the mornings, I have seen this change in you. You are becoming someone who loves God so much. You are someone that people can turn to when they need to be closer to God. Because you are so close to him. People see Jesus in you. I love you so much and I thank God everyday for allowing me to be your soulmate. You say I am inspiring others, well you inspire me. I love you!

Every word of this message is my dream come true. From day one all I have ever wanted was to become that man she saw in her dreams. Because, I know it was God who gave her that dream, and I knew the only way I would ever be truly happy in this life would be to become this man. Perhaps that was her calling in life; and if so, I know Jesus is well pleased with His servant, my Angel. She has loved me with everything she had to give, and then some. So yes, I will be devastated should God take her home before me. But, there will also be a sense of joy knowing her life was well pleasing to our God. If ever there has been a living representation of the type of woman we read about in Proverbs 31, it is my Angel.

Verses 10-12 A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.

Verses 28-31 Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.” Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Honor her for all that her hands have done, and let her works bring her praise…

My Angel, this outpouring of love you are receiving is God’s way of letting you know how pleased He is with you. He is touching the hearts of His children in a mighty way, and through your example, He is touching many, many lives. You are teaching young wives how to become a woman every Christian husband dreams of. Our daughters will become amazing women of God because of how you have taught them. You have always, and continue to bless our lives, simply with your existence. I still pray with everything I have within me that God will allow you to stay with us. He is and always has been a God of miracles; and knowing this, we will continue to trust in Him until we take our last breath. Then we can be together, forever, in the presence of our God. What a day of rejoicing that will be! When we all see Jesus, We’ll sing and shout the victory!

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

