When You Got A Good Thing

73fae810a57cc8f9897ba7faa06293ea

One look into those mesmerizing brown eyes, and she had my attention. Then, add that beautiful red hair, and that short blue jean skirt, and that 26 year-old me never had a chance. Yes. I was captivated by her outward beauty. But, as I got to know her over the next few weeks, it was her loving, caring heart that captured mine. Fast forward 22 years, and I am standing behind this same beautiful woman, with a shaver in my hand, as chemo began robbing her of her trademark red hair for the first time. When I finished, and I looked once again into those eyes, fully expecting to see sadness, all I saw was beauty. I don’t really know how to explain it. All I knew was that I was looking at the bravest soul I had ever known. What I saw, were the eyes of a warrior, ready to fight this cancer with everything she had; and I felt so honored that God had blessed me with such an amazing Proverbs 31 Woman of God.

Well. today makes day 1,466 she has bravely fought this monster called cancer, and I have never been more proud of her than I was yesterday. The way she began fighting her way back to life. What a gut punch it must have been for her to be told she was essentially being sent home to die. I know it sent me into an immediate state of grief myself. But, this morning, really for the first time since we got home, I did not break down during my quiet time with God. What my Angel did for me yesterday was remind me that she is still alive, and ready to fight this monster to the very end. She is the bravest soul I have ever known, and hands down, the best thing that ever happened in my life.

That night God placed her in my life, will be imprinted on my mind for eternity. That was over 26 years ago and I can tell you every detail of that night, from exactly what she was wearing, to everything we did. We spent every moment of that night together, and as she left early to go do a walk, to raise money for cancer research i believe, my greatest fear was she would not call me afterwards. I gave her my number, and she assured me she would call, but I was so jaded from past relationships, all I could do was pray she would, and doubted every moment until that phone rang later that evening. People say they don’t believe in love at first sight; all I know is, from that first night on, it was like leading a moth to a flame, I was irresistibly attracted to her in every way possible. Then, a week later, when she showed me her beautiful heart (story here) I was done.

So my Angel, with everything you have,

hold on tight
Don’t let go (until God says it’s time)
Hold onto the love we’re making
Cause baby when the ground starts shakin
You gotta know when you’ve gotta good thing

We got a good thing baby!!!!!

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

