Unchanging God

manos3

What the Lord and I have been discussing this morning is the big picture; what truly matters when it’s all said and done. The other day during the Hospice Chaplain’s visit, he was talking to Janice about her salvation, and how she knows she is going to Heaven. She just smiled and said, “Because Jesus is my Lord and Savior” and in her weakened state starting quoting scripture to him. He then asked her if she thought I would be ok after she is gone. She looked at me with love in her eyes and said, “I know he will be, because his trust is in Jesus.” Oh, if only I had half of her strength! Right now, I just can’t let my mind go there, in front of her anyway. I reserve those thoughts for these mornings with the Lord. Psalm 139:2 tells us that when we sit and when we rise; He perceives our thoughts from afar. So why try to hide them from God. I am all for support groups and friends allowing God to work through them to help a brother or sister through hard times. But, there is no substitute for our personal relationship with God. The great thing about our God is, we don’t need a middle man or woman to go to Him for us. He is a very personal God who wants nothing more than to wipe away every tear that falls.

What we, I have to remember is, though our circumstances may change, we serve an unchanging God. That same God who has been with us through EVERY trial we have faced, is still right here with us, and will be until we take our last breath here on earth. I just love the scripture in 2 Corinthians 5 that came from my Angel’s lips. She only quoted verse 8, but here is 6-8 for context, “So we are always confident, knowing that while we are at home in the body we are absent from the Lord. For we walk by faith, not by sight. We are confident, yes, well pleased rather to be absent from the body and to be present with the Lord.” That is a promise for all of us who put our faith and trust in Jesus. So, even when we have to says our final goodbyes here on earth, they are not really goodbyes, they are simply, see you later’s.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

