Sharing God’s Love in Us

NWuVra1445077034

I used to tell her that her eyes were her most beautiful feature to me, and they are mesmerizing. But, in recent years it is her beautiful smile that makes my heart light up. Perhaps it’s because it’s the one thing I have some control over. This cancer is going to do what it does. But, when we allow God to use us, He knows how to make the magic happen, and that smile is sure to follow.

If there is one secret I have learned to an amazing marriage, it’s to first fall head over heals in love with God. The closer I have gotten to Him, the more time I have spent with Him, the more love I have had to give my beautiful Angel. Each morning I spend in His presence, He is not only filling me with a fresh supply of love to freely give, He is teaching me how to give it.

Most of you are probably familiar with the Marriage Triangle; as you and your spouse grow closer to God you will grow closer together. Well, it’s so much more than something you learn in MasterLife or some course you take on marriage. In fact, we never even thought about it, it just happened. When Janice was diagnosed with cancer, I think we both knew we were way in over our heads. We really had no family experience to draw from. So, we both, on our own, began spending quality time with our God. I look around our living room and I see all these beautiful paintings Janice has done; each born out of a vision the Lord had given her. She also keeps a journal of private thoughts as she has gone through this battle. Me, well you can see the fruit from my writings, as I share my heart with you. What you read, most of the time, is simply what the Lord has put in my heart to share. Other times, I just need to let my thoughts and feelings be known. I have so much going on inside of me, if I didn’t release it, it would consume me.

The key to all of this has been spending quality time with God, and allowing Him to reign in our lives. What has happened as a result is a mutual admiration for each other that translates into a deeper love for one another. The things that makes my Angel so beautiful to me is first and foremost, her love for God; how she puts Him first in everything. Then, how she simply loves people. She seems to gravitate to those that others will ignore. It’s just in her heart to make EVERYONE feel loved and special. Which leads to how she loves me and her children. She makes me feel like I am the most important person in this world. When I am with her, I know I am loved and it is just so amazing to feel so special to someone. Oh, and the way she loves her children. I am sure they know, but they hold such a special place in her heart.

I know there are many of you who have followed our journey for a long time now. You have shared in the heartaches, and rejoiced with us during the many victories. What we want you to know is how very much we love and appreciate you. Every like on a post, every encouraging comment made, let’s us know we are not alone. It reminds us that God has called an army of prayer warriors to stand with us in the battle. It’s easy, when times are good, but when times get hard, and the future looks anything but hopeful, it’s your love and support that helps us get back on our feet, and gives us strength to fight another day. So many times we say, God, please give them a miracle; to bless this family, without realizing we are the very blessing we are asking God to send. From time to time someone will post something on mine or Janice’s Facebook wall saying God wanted them to share this. That is what I am taking about; simple obedience to what calls us to do, is all He will ever ask.

Have a blessed Saturday everyone, and I hope to see many of you tonight. Please pray for my Angel; that her strength will return and she will be able to enjoy this special occasion tonight.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

