Life’s Special Moments

11378563_1608003896123426_1318093941_n

This morning has been one of those solemn mornings where I am just sitting here in the presence of God, so appreciate to have just experienced another special moment with my Angel yesterday. Every time she has to have treatment, no matter how big or small, it’s an opportunity to show her how much she means to me. God just continues to be so good to us. Some may hear that her blood is dangerously low, and needs a transfusion immediately, as being serious, and I guess it could be. But, I know it’s nothing more than God using the medical staff to get my Angel healthy enough to make our flight tomorrow to the Cancer Treatment Centers of America- Eastern Regional Medical Center​. I have really just gotten to the point to where I am just trusting God with whatever comes our way; I mean, what other choice do I have. I can’t heal her from this horrible disease, but I DO know who can. So, I am simply trusting that whatever happens, is what MUST happen for her to be healed. Plus, look at all the special moments we are having. Every trip we take together has become so special to me. I just love pushing her around the hospital in a wheelchair, taking her to get our meals in the cafeteria, or taking her floor to floor to her appointments and treatments. You see, I know my role in this deal, and it one I am so honored to have. Caregiver is my title, and it is not one I went to school for, or took some special training class. It is one that when I was being knitted together in my mother’s womb, God appointed, and now anointed me for. Everything I have done up to this moment has been to prepare me for this time in my life. Those of you who have been here, know exactly what I am talking about. Not one moment has this felt like a burden to me. Sure, I get tired sometimes; but God ALWAYS gives me the strength to endure. August 7, 1994, when I surrendered my life to God’s service, I truly had no idea of what He was calling me to do; But today, my calling could not be more clear. Sure I am called to minister to others, but no more than any other Christian; that is simply what the Lord expects of ALL His children. But my calling, I am living, and it is the most extraordinary feeling to know you are doing the very thing God put you on this planet for. So friends, please never feel bad for me; pray for me, absolutely! I am very much human, and thrive off of your prayers. I draw so much strength as you hit your knees. But, know that every moment the Lord allows me to be in service to my beautiful bride is simply an honor, and I will be here until she is rid of this dreadful disease once and for all. Like I always tell her, she WILL get her turn to wheel me around one day; this is just my time to be in service to her.

On December 29, 1989 I made this commitment:

I, Jerry Len Pitts Jr., take you, Janice Kay Rutledge, to be my wife. I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health. I will love you and honour you all the days of my life.

And since we will have eternity together, that is a promise that will NEVER end.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

