Trusting Him Gives Us Strength to Endure

54e1c1a8124317ce929b559a202e9baf

I remember when I learned to swim. I never took a swimming lesson; or someone holding me up showing me this is how you do it. We lived in Nashville, Tennessee when I was around 9 or 10 and there was this Boys and Girls Club we would walk to that had a swimming pool. I knew how to swim underwater, and figured I could just jump off the diving board into the deep, and swim underwater to the ladder. So, away I jumped into the deep end, and you know what, it was not near as hard as I thought. After the first time, and seeing how easy I made it, I kept doing it over and over, until instead of swimming under water to the ladder, I eventually started swimming above water. Each jump it got a little easier, as my confidence grew, and before the day was done, I was a swimmer.

That has been much like my faith walk with the Lord. When I first decided to trust Him, it was a kinda scary; I mean, to give up complete control and just trust Him with not just my life, but my Angel’s life as well. But, each time I gave my trial to Him, He showed me that He can be trusted; and each new trial that came, they became a little easier, as my faith continued to grow. Today, just like swimming, I don’t even think about it, I just do it. When I find myself in water over my head, it is just a natural instinct to say, here you go God, I trust You to once again bring me through this. Because, I realize, just like EVERY other trial He has brought me through, if this cancer is going to be defeated, it will have to be by the divine mercy of God.

At this point, we are certainly in the deepest waters to date, and our arms are getting weary; but you know what, sometimes you just have to roll over on your back and float awhile until you get your strength back. That is why I come here each morning, and lay my burdens at the feet of Jesus, and leave them there. The more burdens we carry, the heavier the load is on us; and when we try to float with a heavy load, we will just begin to sink. But the lighter we are, the easier it is to just lie there in peace, and before we know it, our strength will begin to return to us, and we can once again roll over and start swimming again.

Jesus tells us in Matthew 11:28-30, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” If you find yourself in over your head this morning, take His hand and just sit at His feet for a while. I have been here for a while now, and can tell you there is no place sweeter this side of Heaven. Share your burdens with Him, and let Him give you rest for your weary soul. If there is one thing the Lord has proven over and over in my life; it’s that HE IS FAITHFUL. So, today I plan to leave this place and have an amazing day, and hopefully touch a life or two. I trust my God will take care of my Angel while I am away at work, and we will continue to swim, as long as HIS strength holds out; and since we serve an omnipotent (all-powerful) God, I feel pretty good about our chances of making it, and so should you.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

