It’s Never Too Late

164420_1767255938039_2722208_n

These Ole Miss/LSU tickets I have saved for nearly 23 years now. They have sentimental meaning for me, but not for the reason you may think. Sure, Ole Miss beat LSU pretty bad that year 32-0, but that really has nothing to do with it. In fact, I don’t remember a single touchdown that was scored that day. The only thing that I remember was a punt, and don’t ask me why I remember that. I guess it was the only sobering moment of the game for me. My entire family was there; parents, wife, and all four children to watch me make a complete fool of myself. We tailgated before the game and I drank way too much Crown Royal and Coke. I remember people in the stands looking at me wondering what in the world was wrong with me. In short, I was a complete embarrassment; but I guess it took a day like this for me to realize just how much I needed to change my life. The really sad part of it was, I was a Christian. I had given my life to Christ almost four years before this took place, but I obviously was not living for the Lord.

It was after this incident occurred that I decided my life simply had to change. Enough was enough! What kind of example was I setting for my children; what kind of husband was I being to my wife; what kind of example was I setting for my family. I mean, how could I ever tell people about Jesus, living this kind of life. This was the point in time where I had to simply put up or shut up. Yes, I had backslidden badly. I had messed up big time. But that did not mean I had to stay on that path. Psalm 103:11-12 says, “For his unfailing love toward those who fear him is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth. He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west.” and just as Jesus told the woman caught in adultery in John 8, “Then Jesus stood up again and said to the woman, “Where are your accusers? Didn’t even one of them condemn you?” “No, Lord,” she said. And Jesus said, “Neither do I. Go and sin no more.”

So after that fateful day, October 31, 1992 I made the decision to completely give my life to the Lord. It was shortly afterwards we got heavily involved in Church, and on Easter Sunday 1993 I got re-baptized, alongside my beautiful bride and we have never looked back. The following year, I surrendered my life to God’s service, and went to Mississippi College where I received my bachelors degree in Christian Studies & Philosophy. I was licensed and ordained to the Gospel Ministry and have tried my best to NEVER embarrass my family again. Since then, my goal has been to become a man after God’s own heart, and one my wife, children, and family could respect. I have not been perfect, not even close. But, now when I mess up, I am quick to confess my sin, and pick up where I left off.

So, no matter where you are today, always remember, it is NEVER too late to become the child of God you were created to be. No matter how far off course you have drifted, Jesus is ALWAYS ready to welcome you home. In Luke 15:7 Jesus said…”there is more joy in heaven over one lost sinner who repents and returns to God…” So, please don’t let a bad decision or two keep you from your destined future. We serve a merciful God and as we are told in 1 John 1:9, “if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness.”

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

