Praising in the Rain

ce27f8b104f83ea462b9831ca9b3d165

What a week it has been. Sometimes it gets tough to keep a positive mindset. But, we MUST cling to the promises of God. 1 Corinthians 10:13 tells us, “And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” For 1,391 days now we have endured, and will continue to fight this dreaded disease. Right now we are in the thick of the hard part. My Angel is in daily pain but we are praying the procedure she is having next week will alleviate much of that. But, no matter how hard it gets, we WILL continue to trust our God to bring us through.

It seems like every time I turn around, someone else is diagnosed with cancer. I had someone write to me yesterday that they felt like they had joined a club and are now members of a club they never wanted to join. How true that is! But, once the initial shock wears off, we realize we really only have two options; we can let this club define who we are, or we can become a leader in this club and help the members fight this ugly disease with all they have. God has called me to be an encourager in this fight. Sometimes it’s hard and feels like I just can’t do it anymore. I mean, how do you just attend your brother-in-law’s funeral, who just died from this very disease, and still tell your wife everything is going to be ok? Well, the truth is, I CANNOT. But, thankfully, GREATER IS HE WHO IS IN ME! (1 John 4:4) Jerry did not call Jerry to be an encourager in this fight, and trust me; Jerry has no ability to encourage ANYONE. But, I know an Omniscient (all-knowing), Omnipotent (all-powerful), Omnipresent (present everywhere at the same time) God. That is why I meet with Him every day possible. Because, I know just how powerless I am against cancer. But, I know as long as I am following His lead, there is ALWAYS a chance for victory.

One of the things I love about going to the Cancer Treatment Center is meeting people from all over the world, who first came there with this gloom and doom report, and here they are years later sharing their stories with us of how they found victory. These miraculous testimonies are such an encouragement to me, and God uses these to reload my batteries, so I can help my Angel and others continue in this fight. Those of you in this battle, let me encourage you; there is only ONE giver and taker of life. So use this time to get as close to Him as you can. He WILL give you the strength to fight, when you feel like giving up. And you Caregivers, I would say it is equally important for us to stay right in the center of God’s will. If we ever lose hope, how can we encourage those we love? Going through this more times than I can count, I can assure you our loved ones will, at times, feel like giving up. That is when we MUST be there for them, and allow God to work through us, to help them find strength until they are able to fight again.

I have heard too many stories of victory, and am trusting God that you are watching ours unfold before your very eyes. Every surgery, every round of chemo, and most importantly, every prayer we bring before the throne room of God, is part of my Angel’s healing. Every day I sit here in His presence, He is encouraging me, assuring me He’s got this thing under control, to just trust Him. This is why I just don’t worry about this stuff. Worry is the absence of faith; and I have seen God continually work miracles in our lives; so why would I not continue to trust in Him! May we NEVER forget, Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God Almighty, is the Lord God Almighty!

From my heart to Yours!

Leave a Reply

