Our Presence Can Make a Difference

10371461_312074442311381_352595980102949812_n

This week I was reminded just how important family and friends are. Thursday, we knew my sister, Debra McCain​ needed a break for sitting in the Hospice room, so my younger sister, Patty Pitts Watson​ and I had lunch with her. I was working in the Jackson area and met them at a Mexican Restaurant where we had a nice sit down lunch. We were just sitting there having a nice conversation, when out of the blue, a wave of grief hit my sister. I was sitting across from them in a booth and watched as my other sister just put her arm around her and held her. I just wanted to cry! My heart just broke, but it was such a precious moment to watch my younger sister show her compassionate heart. She really missed her calling I believe. She would have made an amazing nurse, just the way she cares for others. I remember she did the same for us, when our son, Kris died. Then, I learned she used to volunteer at that very same Hospice where they were. I could not be more proud of her, always there whenever she is needed. I can’t even count the times she has made special trips to her hair shop, just to do Janice’s hair. Love and compassion are just a part of who she is, and what a blessing it was to see it displayed in such an amazing way.

You see, Patty didn’t have to say a word, just her being there, holding my sister until the moment passed was enough. Many of you, like I used to be, may feel very uncomfortable in these type of situations. We think, I just don’t know what to say. so we will try to avoid the situation. But, what I have learned is, these are the very moments that will be remembered. My Angel has had six surgeries, and I can tell you every visitor who came, even if it was only for a moment, at least they took the time to show they cared. I can tell you every person who came to our sons funeral, those who came by just to let us know they loved us, and were praying for us. But, you know what I can’t recall? I can’t tell you a single word that was spoken. Why? Because, it was not anything they had to say that mattered. What mattered was the cared enough to show up, and those who were not physically able to come, at least called and let us know they cared.

Want to make a friendship for life? Be there for someone in their hour of need. Because, I can assure you there will be a time when we will need that love returned. Jesus told us in John 13:34-35, “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” When we allow God’s love flow through us, this is where the healing begins; and there is simply nothing more amazing this side of Heaven, than when the Creator of this Universe uses us to accomplish His will here on earth.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

