A True Love Story Never Ends

true-love-stories-never-have-endings-62 (1)

I have been doing a lot of family research the last couple of years, and in doing so, ran across so many love stories. Probably the one that sticks out is with my great-grandfather, Willie Davis. He was an amazing man, who loved the Lord with everything he had. I never really knew his wife, as she died when I was only 4 years old. I only knew him as this kind old man, who spent his final years staying with his daughters, mainly my grandmother, who was the oldest. But, as I looked back on his life I saw things I never noticed when he was alive. He was actually married for around 50 years to the love of his life, Lela Velma Ashley. And if you go to Shady Grove Cemetery in Hazlehurst, Mississippi you will find their bodies lying side-by-side, but one thing you can be sure of, He and his beautiful bride are not lying there in the ground; on November 7, 1991, they were reunited in Paradise, and there they will spend eternity together. It was kinda sad the last 24 years of his life. He lived to be only a few weeks shy of his 97th birthday, and I am sure he missed her dearly. But then that day came, and just as they began their journey, they became one forevermore.

I know losing a loved one is never easy, but if they knew Jesus as Lord, the years we are apart from them is just a short pit-stop in the grand scheme of things. My sister is facing this right now, the love of her life will soon pass on to Glory, where he will patiently wait for her to join him. As sad it may seem, and it will hurt for a while; but it is so comforting to know their journey together will never end, as they will have eternity to be together. There is this saying, “It is better to have loved and lost, than to have never loved at all.” So, if you are part of a beautiful love story, count your many blessings; there is nothing better this side of Heaven. We were created to love, and when God gives us the other part of our heart, it is a gift that never has an end.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

