What God Has Joined Together

images

One of my favorite things in this world, is to do something that makes my Angel smile. Some may think it was our son’s death that brought us closer, or her being diagnosed with cancer, but the truth is, it goes back even further than that. It was in our 19th year of marriage and things had grown very cold. I was wondering if Janice even loved me anymore. I was seriously thinking that she was getting ready to check out of this relationship. So, I did as I have always done, I went to God and asked Him to show me how to fix this. What the Holy Spirit helped me understand was, I was not making her feel loved. When we first got together, she was my world, but after raising 4 children, life happened, and we both had just gotten tired. So, the Lord started showing me, it was the little things that were missing; those small tokens of love, where I not just tell her with words, put show her with actions.

The first thing I remember was on our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The Lord put in my spirit to have her original wedding ring restored. Around our 12th year of marriage diamonds has started falling out, and she quit wearing it. I bought her a cheap replacement, but I knew she had always loved that first token of love I had given to her. So I found the guy who originally sold me the ring. He was now retired, but had his shop out back. He restored the ring beautifully, putting new diamonds in, and made it look like new. When I surprised her with it, she immediately started crying, gave me a big hug and told me she loved me. I knew then, I had ignited a piece of her heart that had died, and since that day my mission has been to continue to seek the Lord, and show her how much she means to me.

Today, we have never been closer, and I just live for days like yesterday. She was not feeling well, so I asked her if I could make her any breakfast. She said maybe a piece of cheese toast. Simple enough, so I made it for her and brought it to her in bed. I knew she would not feel up to going to the grocery store, so I went and bought groceries. As soon as I got in the car to come home she calls and said she had a headache, and asked if I had gotten her any Excedrin Migraine. I said no, but could go by Walgreens and get her some. So, I made the extra stop, got her medicine and brought it to her. After I got home she told me, “I sure do love you; you are so good to me, I know I don’t tell you enough.” That my friends was all I needed to hear. You see, every time I can put a smile on her face, I know I am doing what God wants me to do, and as long as I am following His lead, I know her heart will continue burn for me.

So, if your marriage is not what it used to be, let me challenge you to first, spend time with God and let Him teach you, as He has taught me. Who better to teach us about marriage, than the One who instituted it in the first place. What I have learned these last six years or so is, to never stop trying to win my Angels heart. I am extremely grateful that God gave me such an amazing gift, and plan to spend the rest of my days showing Him how much I appreciate her. Some of you guys may get tired of me always expressing my love for my wife, but the real question is, why aren’t you? Proverbs 31:30-31 says, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Honor her for all that her hands have done, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate. So, with my bullhorn I will proudly continue to do what Gods Word says; and let the entire world know what an amazing wife I have. I am far from perfect, and she certainly could have found someone better looking, and in better shape; but there is absolutely NO ONE who can love her like I do. Because, it is God who has put this love in my heart, and what God has joined together, NO ONE can separate (Matthew 19:6). This is true in our marriage and it can be true with EVERY couple who submits their relationship to the Lord, and commits to do things His way.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

