Where Our Help Comes From

images

One thing that has amazed me these last several years has been the transformation my Angel has made. Prior to her being diagnosed with cancer she was just this sweet little country girl, who avoided conflict at every turn. But, then in October 2011 this monster called cancer backed her into a corner, and it has found out why red heads have the reputation they do. She said enough is enough and came out swinging. Well, that battle continues to this day. The disease is resilient; it will knock her down, but she just keeps getting back up. Sometimes it reminds me of the first Rocky movie; she will be at that point when you would expect her to just stay down, but then she will get back up and take another blow. I know there are times she just wants to throw in the towel, but she always knows where her strength comes from. This week has been a challenge for her. Twice she has had to come home early. Wednesday she called me around 1:30 pm and told me she was headed home, she just couldn’t make it. When I arrived home a few hours later she was lying in bed, praise music filling the room, and no doubt calling on God to give her strength. If I had to give you the key to every victory I have witnessed these last 1,376 days, I would say she has simply learned as King David did in Psalm 121 when he said, “I lift up my eyes to the hills—where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.” She KNOWS the source of her strength, and understands her quickest path to victory comes through praising our God in the midst of her storms.

Going through a storm in your own life today? Well, you have that same choice Janice does every time she finds herself in that place of feeling like she just can’t do this anymore; and you know what, she can’t, by herself anyway. But, when we find ourselves in situations that have us overwhelmed, that is the perfect time to call on our God, and let Him show us why He is called the Great I AM. But, it all comes down to our personal relationship with God, and whether we are willing to Trust Him. We have made this choice and look at the results. We have now gone through 6 major battles now; 6 times we have trusted God to bring my Angel through surgeries, the last two very long and definitely tested my faith. But, our God has shown us all, time and time again, why He is known as a Faithful God. The strange thing is, even though this war has certainly been longer than we would like; it hardly feels like we have been fighting at all. I believe when we all have a choice, in Exodus 14:14 Moses tells the children of Israel, “The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.” At that moment, they were standing at the edge of the Red Sea, hemmed in by the sea before them and the Egyptian army behind. The Israelites are in a seemingly impossible situation, but it was a situation brought on by the Lord Himself. They trusted, and the seas parted; they witnessed the seemingly impossible, and that’s what happens when we place our trust in God. May we NEVER forget we serve an on-time God. Sometimes He will let our faith be tested, but when, on the Solid Rock we stand, we can expect the taste of sweet victory in the end.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

