God of Second Chances

hes-a-second-chance-god

I used to know this guy who, when he was 17 years old, visited his cousin in New Orleans. In a single night, while walking through the French Quarter, he was thrown against the wall 3 different times and frisked for drugs. Yes, his hair was half-way down his back, and he certainly looked the part of someone who would be doing drugs. This was a guy that most people had written off as a lost cause. He had dropped out of high school just short of his 16th birthday, mostly because his days consisted of getting high on drugs, and rarely ever went to class. This kid continued this spiral downhill for about ten years until he finally hit rock bottom. Most of his classmates probably just assumed he was dead or in jail.

Wonder what happened to this lost cause? Well, he comes here every morning, and I tell you about the amazing God who saved me out of that life, and gave me a new life beyond my wildest dreams. You see, there are no lost causes. EVERYONE who has a breath left in them has the opportunity to live the life I have lived for the past 26 years. All it takes is one encounter with God, and we are never the same again. One of the most meaningful verses in the Bible to me is 2 Corinthians 5:17 which says, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” and that was EXACTLY what happened to me. You see, I never quit doing drugs, I never quit the party scene, I didn’t have to. When God changed my life, He took those desires from me, and gave me the desire to please Him.

So, if you are feeling lost today, I have great news; this can be the day you will remember for eternity, and one that can make the rest of your days here on earth filled with more hope and purpose than you ever dreamed possible. All it takes is a leap of faith, and believe me when I say, it is a leap that will not just change your life here on earth, but one that will give you a life eternal, in a place more wonderful than you can possibly comprehend. Jesus is knocking at the door of your heart; the only question is, will you open the door and let Him in?

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

