Into the Arms of Jesus

feet of Jesus

Yesterday was one of those days that will stay with me for eternity. My brother-in-law asked me to come pray for him, and as Janice and my sister joined us, as soon as we joined hands, the presence of God just consumed us. As I prayed, I started hearing people begin to cry, not because of anything I said, but rather we all knew we were in the presence of Almighty God. He was letting us all know He was there, and that when Paul’s time here is over, into His sweet presence He will go, and patiently wait for us to join him. Some people may have to wonder if they will go to Heaven or not; but for Paul, he is prepared and ready to fall into the arms of Jesus. These last few years he has suffered greatly, but his suffering will soon end, and to his eternal home he will go, where there will be no more suffering and no more pain. I honestly had never met anyone who has planned their own funeral, down to the smallest detail, until now. He has made sure my sister is set for life, and will never have to want for anything, accept to be with him again. I can only hope I will have his strength when my time comes.

This is why I am drawn here every morning, to sit at the feet of Jesus. It is without a doubt something I look forward to as I close my eyes each night. Because I know, once I enter His sweet presence, nothing else really matters. Here I can just pour out my heart, share what’s on my mind, and just listen as He teaches me, and equips me to become the man of God I was born to be. Going into yesterday was not something I was looking forward to, in the flesh. But, I knew it was not about me, it was about doing the will of God; and as Janice and I rode home last night, it just felt like we had just experienced an almost perfect day.

I realize we will have some very difficult days ahead, but just knowing Paul is destined to be with Jesus makes it so much easier. What God gave us all yesterday was a gift, and a reminder of how important it is to stay in right relationship with Him. Paul is receiving a very rare blessing from the Lord. This entire week, he has been visited non-stop by the countless family and friends letting him know how much he has meant to them, and giving them an opportunity to share their heart with someone who has blessed their lives. But, very few receive this gift. Many leave this earth without warning, and there are no opportunities for final goodbyes, let alone, opportunities to make sure we are in right relationship with God. But, if we will make it a DAILY practice to sit at the feet of Jesus, that is one thing we will NEVER have to question. Because, when our time does come, we can know, that we know, that we know, into Jesus’ arms we will go. As Paul said in 2 Corinthians 5:8, “…to be absent from the body, is to be present with the Lord.”

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

