A Beautiful Soul

true beauty

When we learn to become comfortable in our own skin, is when our inner beauty will begin to shine through. One of mine and Janice’s favorite people at the Cancer Treatment Center is this Patient Care Technician who took care of her while she was in the hospital. She is probably in her mid 20’s, and quite a bit overweight, but that is the last thing you notice about her. She has this bubbly personality, full of life, and she just loves on everyone. She took such amazing care of Janice, it was like she was her personal little angel, who helped her take bathes and even shaved her legs before we left. Then, when Janice started her chemo treatments we were so excited that she had transferred from the hospital to infusion, where Janice gets her chemo treatments. While we were in the hospital we were talking to her, and she was telling us how much she loves the Lord, and it became so evident of what makes her the beautiful soul she is, as the Holy Spirit is just so evident in her life. For me, it is so refreshing to see someone her size, to just love who she is in Christ, to greet everyone she meets with her amazing smile, and let everyone she encounters experience all the love she has to give.

My Angel is now going through chemo for the fifth time. Two of those times I had to shave her head, when the chemo she was taking caused her hair to begin falling out. But instead of letting it get her down, she just continued to shine. In fact, she just had fun with it. We got her three different style wigs and she just went on like nothing had changed. Most people at her work just thought she had gotten her hair cut. She was not fixing to play the cancer card for sympathy. Yes, she understood the severity of what she was going through, but she was not going to let this disease define who she was. In fact, I think this is when my love for her really took on new life. When I began to see her beautiful soul shine through those mesmerizing brown eyes of hers. I would look at her, and I would not see a woman worrying about dying, I saw a Proverbs 31 Woman of God emerge, full of hope, because she knew who she was in Christ.

The biggest compliment my Angel has ever given me, is one I get to experience on a daily basis. Hair or no hair, make-up or no make-up, she is just her beautiful self; and she knows that those things just don’t matter to me. She understands my love for her goes way beyond the physical. Yes, I am married to a beautiful woman on the outside, but it is her beauty on the inside, that really makes my heart beat for her. I just love to watch the many ways she shows her love for Christ. As I look around the living room this morning I see pictures she has painted, each representing a vision the Lord had given her. One theme I see in each picture is “Peace”. They are all uniquely different, but they all represent the peace the Lord has put in her heart as she has battled this dreaded disease.

I believe the happiest people on this planet are those who have simply learned to love themselves, and their true beauty can’t help but to shine through. You see it in their eyes, in their smile, and in the way they show love to all they encounter. This kind of beauty has nothing to do with our outer appearance, but rather the condition of our heart. In 1 Samuel 16:7 the Lord told Samuel that people judge by outward appearance, but He looks at our heart; and as our heart becomes more like His heart, people can’t help but to take notice, as it is truly a beautiful thing to behold.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

