Eternal Love

Eternal Love

This morning I woke up to the words, “Eternal Love” so there was no doubt what the Lord and I would be talking about this morning. There is this line in this Rascal Flatts video that says, “Sometimes life just seems like chapters of goodbyes.” and that’s so true. I remember the day my Grandmother passed away, and the tears that followed, as I broke the news to my Aunt Lennie. I was fine until I hugged her, then I just fell apart in her arms. Then again when we lost our son. I was fine until the day of his funeral. But then they played his tribute video, and as a family we just embraced each other, and I doubt there was a dry eye in the house.

It is so special when we have that kind of love for someone, and when they leave us for our eternal home, there is this longing to be with them again, that never goes away. That longing is called “Eternal Love.” It is a love that has it’s beginning here on earth, but it’s a love that never ends. We still feel it year after year, because this kind of love never dies. We simply have to find a special place in our heart, and leave it there. But, we CANNOT let it determine the way we spend the rest of our lives. The grieving process is different for everyone, and I would NEVER try to tell someone how they should go through this process. But, one thing I do know with certainly, this type of grief is one we MUST give to the Lord and let Him bring us through it; else we will find ourselves, year after year in mourning, never truly experiencing the beauty of life.

Jesus tells us in Matthew 11:28-30, “Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” This is what I did, and it took a while, but one day my heart just didn’t hurt anymore. Yes, I still miss my loved ones dearly, but I find comfort in knowing they are no longer in pain. They both were suffering here on earth, and I know that’s not something God desires of His children. In His mercy, He will lovingly welcome them into His arms in that place where there is no more suffering or pain (Revelation 21:4) and there they will lovingly wait for us (1 Thessalonians 4:17). You see, “Eternal Love” never dies because it is something our loved ones took with them when they crossed those Pearly Gates, and when our time comes, as it will for us all, into their loving arms we will fall, and it will be a reunion that will last for eternity.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

