The Value of Life

Quote-Life-is-a-Gift-Celestine-Chua

Good morning friends. This has been a difficult morning as my heart is heavy for my dear sister. I will let her message speak for itself.

Update on Paul: I wanted to update everyone on Paul’s condition. He is not doing well at all. We had to call hospice in about a week ago to help with his pain and to help with other needs. I didnt want to mention it to anyone at the time, because of the unfortunate passing of Uncle Winford. I did not want to take away from his family and friends during the funeral. I love Uncle Winford and his family very much, he deserved his time. The nurse came out today and said that Paul only as a short time left and that I needed to call family and friends to let them know that if they want to see him coherent, they would need to come see him soon. Paul is going down fast. The nurse said that just from Friday when she saw him, he had gone down alot. Please pray for Paul. I hope this does not sound selfish, but I need your prayers too. This is so hard for me, to watch my best friend go through this horrible disease. He is in so much pain all of the time and has been since 2013. Its hard to watch him hurt. I love him so much and cant do anything to help him. Thank you everyone for being here during this fight.

She is now living my worst nightmare, so I have been here doing the only thing I can at the moment; asking God to please let her know He is near. To consume her with His presence. Sometimes life just seems so unfair; she finally found what she has longed for her entire life; that kind of love that makes this life worth living, and now it seems it’s his time to move on to Glory.

I guess until we or someone close to us comes face to face with death it’s hard to really understand just how precious life is. There is this quote that says, “Life is not measured by the number of the breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away;” and this has been how we have decided to live the rest of our lives.

I guess we have now gotten the reputation for the couple who loves to cruise; we have been on six cruises in less than five years. But, these trips mean more to us than just vacations; we are living life to the fullest, taking every opportunity we can to take in as much of God’s beautiful creation as humanly possible. You see, we never know when our last trip will be our last, so we have made sure to just slow life down, forget the things that really don’t matter, and focus on how amazingly beautiful this life can be.

As much as we enjoy the big vacations, this year we have learned that the little moments can be wonderful too. When we were riding out by the Reservoir this past Sunday, I just watched Janice, with her hair blowing in the wind, looking up to the sky taking pictures. She is just in that place where she sees the beauty of it all. She has this appreciation for life that most of us just can’t comprehend; and it just fills my heart with joy every time I see her in moments like that, because I know that is why I am here; to make sure she has these experiences. I have never really wanted or needed to be wealthy, but this one time I wish I had the money to just spend the rest of our days traveling the world, because each time her heart smiles, my heart smiles.

Friends, I pray each of you find a way to discover how beautiful this life can be. What we have learned is, the key to living “Life to the Fullest” (John 10:10) is to completely surrender our lives to the Lordship of Christ, and trust Him with the outcome. EVERY blessing we have received these last five years has been a direct result of that trust; and it has been so amazing to watch God orchestrate EVERY little detail of our lives. The way He has just pathed the way for us has been so much more than we could ever have dreamed possible.

But, if we ever want to reap the benefits of the life God desires for each of His children, we have to come to the realization that there are no shortcuts with God. He wants more than just lip service; He wants more than us just sitting in the pews on Sunday; He wants us to truly trust Him DAILY with our lives; and what I have found is, it takes all the pressure off of me. I don’t have to figure this thing out; He already knows exactly how the story ends. After all, He has already written our life’s story, all we have to do is live it, and trust those amazing words spoken in Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

From my heart to yours!

 

Leave a Reply

