Indescribable Joy

Indescribable Joy
Indescribable Joy

This morning I was sitting here talking to the Lord and couldn’t quite put into words the way I was feeling, and then it came to me; Indescribable joy! The reason I am having such a hard time understanding it, is simply because I don’t understand how my wife has been batting cancer for the last 3 years, 8 months, and 25 days, yet I feel so much joy in my heart. I believe this is the result of when we let Jesus take the wheel and just trust Him with our lives. In Isaiah 55:8-9 the Lord tells us, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” My mind simply cannot comprehend my feelings; how the Lord can put so much joy in my heart, all while going through such challenging times.

Then it was like the Lord said, let me show you what I can do. I never know how Janice is going to feel the day after chemo. Usually she is headed downhill pretty quick. But she walks in the living room and says, “I sure would like a ham and cheese omelet, two pieces of toast, and a Boost drink. Talk about making my heart smile! So I went and made her breakfast, and I never know how the omelet is going to turn out. So I just ask the Lord to please help me; and you might know it, the omelette turned out perfect. So we are sitting here, Janice eating her breakfast and she has a Hillsong conference on GOD TV. Waking up with Jesus on her mind; man, I love this woman! She is sitting here with worship going on and reading healing scriptures out of her journal. Sorry cancer, but you are going to have a hard time taking this Proverbs 31 Woman of God down!

Then I think about every trip we take, and how much I look forward to each one of them. Making wonderful memories with my Angel has been so special to me. Just to watch her in action and how she handles everything she goes through. Everyone she encounters just falls in love with her, because Jesus is so evident in her life. She is ALWAYS complimenting people, making them feel good about themselves. The Nurses are always blown away with her cheerful attitude. It’s like they just can’t believe someone living with so much pain, can always seem to find a smile to brighten someone else’s day. It’s that unspeakable joy that just exudes from her, that just brightens up the room.

Friends, if any of you are going through troubling times, and are struggling, let me encourage you to get in God’s presence and let Him show you, as He has shown us, how amazing this life can be; even in the midst of our trails. Let Jesus make your heart smile, because our outlook on life, and the way we respond to EVERYTHING this life throws at us, is a direct result of the condition of our hearts. Hard times DO NOT have to take away our joy, but if handled God’s way, can both makes our trails much more tolerable, and be an encouragement to others as they go through their own troubling times. It is simply so beautiful when God makes our hearts smile, and fills our lives with indescribable joy.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

