Encouragement Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

fierce_marriage_husband_pray_encourage

One of the things I am proudest of is how Janice has excelled in her career, mostly while battling cancer. But, for her to get where she is today, we would have to go back to that fateful day in 1994 when I got the opportunity to go to college. I was offered a ministerial scholarship to attend Mississippi College. But there was no way I was going to go to college and not take my Angel with me, not just to support me, but to realize her dream as well. With my scholarship they told me that Janice could take 6 hours per semester for free. So I encouraged Janice to enroll, that way we could both take advantage of this opportunity. She took six hours that first semester, and loved it so much she decided that she wanted to attend full-time. So we applied for a pell grant and made it happen. From that moment on she was unstoppable. She graduated only a semester behind me and finished with a 3.50 GPA (Cum Laude) and I couldn’t have been more proud of her. Then to get her latest promotion she had to take 10 very difficult exams to received her FLMI designation http://www.loma.org/profdev/designations/flmi.aspx. Most of these exams were taken in between chemo treatments and surgeries. I guess it may bother some men, that their wife makes more money, but I know how hard she had worked to get where she is, and I couldn’t be more proud of her. In fact, it takes a lot of pressure off of me. You see, we don’t have his and hers finances, never have. The more she makes, the more we make collectively, and it has allowed us to live a pretty comfortable life, so why should it bother me. Bottom line, I am married to an awesome woman, whose incredible accomplishments continue to amaze me.

Men, you will find that the more you encourage your mate, the stronger your relationship will become. Be the kind of man that if she told her friends she was going to leave you, they would tell her that she is crazy. Never leave any doubt in her mind how much she means to you, tell her how beautiful she is, hold her hand in public, open her car door, and always tell others how amazing she is. Be proud of the blessing God gave you, and to make sure she never gets bored, in the words of Lee Brice, Love Like Crazy!

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

