Living in God’s Favor

Since today is July 4th, I thought I would declare my independence and start my own place where I can continue to share my heart with you all. While I am grateful to have the opportunity to write for other websites and magazines, it is here, with the people who love and pray for us, that my heart truly lies. So, since my time is limited, at least for now, I am going to just post here, and those who want to read my articles will know exactly where to find them.
As I sit here this morning in the presence of my God, I am feeling so very grateful. This has been a wonderful week full of God’s favor on our lives. Most of you have seen the blessing the Lord gave me earlier this week. Never in my wildest dreams would I ever thought I would own a Porsche; but then again Ephesians 3:20 does say that God is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think. It’s just that I have lived a lifetime of never really needing or desiring the finer things in life; I have been content with driving older model cars. But, if God wants to give me such a blessing, I will graciously accept this gift with honor. Janice had been praying for me to find a vehicle we could afford. We had determined that I needed to keep the payments under $200 per month. So, just for fun, I googled sports cars in the Jackson, Mississippi area. This Porsche comes up and the guy had just dropped the price to $5900. Ok, I confess, I know little to nothing about these cars but my first thought was, something major had to be wrong with it. I then Goodled other similar models and they were thousands of dollars more. So, just out of curiosity I sent a text to the guy to see if he still had the car. He said he did, so I got the address to his place. It was just a small dealership that also does auto repairs. I test drove the car all over the interstate and it drove great, but then I got on some of the Jackson roads and noticed a little vibration in the rear end. Because I just had to replace one of the struts on my car, I knew what the problem likely was, because mine was doing the same thing. Also, all four of the tires were worn and almost slick. I figured this was why no one had bought the vehicle, and when I asked the guy, he confirmed the struts needed to be replaced, he just didn’t want to put any more money into the vehicle. From what I know about Porsche’s, they are expensive to get fixed. I had already been approved for a loan from USAA Auto so I called and asked how much I could borrow to purchase this vehicle. They said the value showed to be $9400. This thought had come into my head, since the car is marked down so low, and this guy fixes cars, why not ask him to put new struts on the vehicle, a new set of tires, and also put a new strut on my car (I had only replaced one, but the other was bad as well), and add those cost to the vehicle. He did, and we settled for a total sale price of $8,000. This was still much cheaper than any of the other cars I had seen, and I would know the struts and tires will be good for a while. I financed it for four years and the payments are only $196.00 per month, staying within our set budget for me to get a vehicle. James 1:5 says, “If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you.” We had asked, we had prayed, and look at the results. Is our God awesome or what!

Porsche Pic Small

Now, to end this amazing week, yesterday I asked Janice what she wanted to do for the 4th of July. We usually just sit home and watch others shoot fireworks from our back deck, if we do anything at all. But, this year she completely shocked me. She said she had looked at the Mississippi Braves schedule and they are playing today and have a fireworks show afterwards. In my head I am thinking, you go girl! She isn’t going to let this cancer steal another moment from her; she is going to do as Jesus said; live a full and abundant life (John 10:10). so I got online and read about the festivities they have planned for today. They are having a tailgate party beginning at 2:00 pm, with live music and discounted food. Then, after the game an amazing fireworks show is planned. So I get online thinking surely with such a great event planned there will be no good seats left, right? But as you might know it, there were 2 seats, front row, right by the dugout. I am not sure how many more blessings I can take in one week. You see, our future is anything but guaranteed, but we refuse to dwell on that. God is blessing us with this amazing life, right now, and we are going to enjoy each and every moment we can. I pray you all have an amazing 4th of July weekend, and as for us, rain or shine, we’re headed out to the ole ball field to enjoy just a little more of God’s favor on our lives.

From my heart to yours!

Leave a Reply

